All about the Malcolm Baldrige Award

Business Initiative Directions

Who was Malcolm Baldrige?

Before his death in a rodeo accident in July 1987,  he was Secretary of Commerce as of 1981. A constant advocate of the field of quality, he especially defended its role in the prosperity and long-term strength of the USA.

To honor his efforts and contributions in the field, Congress named the award after him.

What is the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award?

Established in 1987 by Congress, the award program serves to recognize businesses and organizations in the U.S.  for their achievements in quality and performance. The Award also serves to increase awareness about the importance of both quality and performance excellence as a competitive edge.

The Award is not given for specific products or services.

Each year, three awards may be given in the categories of: manufacturing, service, small business, education, healthcare and nonprofit.

The Award and recipients form part of the U.S. quality movement, and is considered one of the most significant programs in making quality best practices, a national priority.

Who presents the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award?

The Baldrige Award is presented by the President of the United States.

The Baldrige National Quality Program  is managed by the U.S. Commerce Department’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), in close cooperation with the private sector.

Who receives the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award?

Small and large businesses— both manufacturing and service. The Award is also presented to organizations- education, healthcare, and nonprofits. Upon applying for the Award, companies and organizations go through the Baldrige evaluation process.

The companies and organizations, upon revision, are found to be outstanding in seven areas:

  1. leadership
  2. strategic planning
  3. customer and market focus
  4. measurement, analysis, and knowledge management
  5. workforce focus
  6. process management
  7. results

Application Fee

As of 2013, companies who apply for the Malcolm Baldrige Award must pay a non-refundable fee of $360, for eligibility filing, as well as an application fee. The application fee can range from $9,600 to $18,000 for businesses and educational institutions, depending on the size of the company or organization.